First time, i teared..in a concert.

I watched him a few years back at a free-standing outdoor concert, at Fort Canning, Singapore. I really enjoyed it. Since 2008, I fell in love with this quirky lyricist and his music. The “LIVE on Earth” album really blew me away, and as it stands, it is still one of the best albums ever in my opinion. It takes my breath away every time I listen to it.  The musicianship of Jason Mraz and his band is just… pristine.

And so. This show, I was a little skeptical at first.
Who is Raining Jane?

And his big band, has been stripped down to.. 4 ladies? And why does he have to share the limelight with them! [Yes jealousy alert.]
An acoustic set in a classy little music hall. [nah, its huge actually]

I bought the third tier tickets, half-heartedly.

that's all i could capture from my 98-dolla-500-metre away seat.

that’s all i could capture from my 98-dolla-500-metre away seat.

 

MISTAKE!

It was a one-of-a-kind experience for me. I wished I was nearer to watch the expressions of him, and his spunky bandmates! As he put it, he joined a girlband.

It was an evening of heartfelt story-telling, by a bunch of true artists who simply love their craft of making music, and sharing love with people.
Like Jason, the Raining Jane girls are multi-talented. They straddle between instruments and do beautiful, beautiful backup vocals.

And so. I teared during this song.

Definitely #noregrets getting the best seats for a @jason_mraz concert. #beautifulmess #innermission

A post shared by B A L D W I N (@bbbbaldwin) on

(reposted from instagram, thank you for the permission!)

The song just came alive. The harmony, and the arrangements just got a hold on me, and I couldn’t help tear. And the worst feeling was, when he ended the song on a HANGING CHORD! I could rip my heart out.

Beautiful Mess is actually one of the first few songs that Jason wrote together with Raining Jane! I didn’t know that!

That aside, the lyrical genius cracked a number of puns and that really shows his  humorous approach to life. As a songwriter, I am very inspired by him – especially the humour part.

One thing to take away from the night.

Q: What do you do when you have writer’s block?
A: Write about writer’s block!

header image retrieved from here.

3 responses to “First time, i teared..in a concert.

Leave a Reply

